top of page
Flower vase
uThukela District Municipality

The uThukela District Municipality is a region that has abundant natural resources and opportunities. uThukela is located on the western boundary of the KwaZulu-Natal Province

A Prime Tourist Destination

Flower vase

The uThukela District Municipality is a region that has abundant natural resources and opportunities. uThukela is located on the western boundary of the KwaZulu-Natal Province.

The district comprises the three local municipalities of Alfred Duma, Inkosi Langalibalele and Okhahlamba. UThukela District Municipality has a strong district council that has performed an important developmental and administrative role in the region.

The uThukela District is regarded as having good potential agricultural land, with the commercial farming sector being dominated by forestry plantations and field crops, such as maize, dry beans and potatoes. Livestock production mainly focuses on beef, dairy and sheep.

The beauty of the area enhances the tourism opportunities in the district. Tourist destinations include the Ukhahlamba Drakensberg Mountains where approximately half a million tourists a year visit this World Heritage Site as well as the historic battlefields in the region.

Alfred Duma Municipality’s main urban areas are Ladysmith, Ezakheni, Steadville and Colenso/ Nkanyezi. Ladysmith, the seat of uThukela District, is the primary urban area and is centrally located with respect to corridor development and transport routes in the region, which increases the economic opportunities in and around the town.

Ladysmith serves as a major shopping centre for towns such as Colenso, Glencoe, Bergville and Dundee. The town boasts a strong and diverse manufacturing base offering several industrial areas, the largest being the Ithala Industrial Estate.

Due to its proximity to the N3 and N11 highways, the rural area benefits from a network of provincial and district roads.

Okhahlamba Municipality is situated in the mountainous region of KwaZulu-Natal between Lesotho, the Free State, Emnambithi and Mtshezi. Okhahlamba is made up of privately owned commercial farmland, smallholder settlements, the urban areas of Bergville, Winterton, Cathkin Park, Geluksberg, and two tribal authority areas.

Bergville is described as the gateway the Drakensberg. Some of the most picturesque holiday resorts, like Catkin Peak, Cathedral Peak, Champagne Castle, Oliviershoek, and Spioenkop historical site, lakeside resort and dam are all situated close to the town. As such, it is one of the major sources of income generation within the tourism industry as the spending in the area contributes significantly to the economy. The Royal Natal National Park and the Rugged Glen Nature Reserve boast one of South Africa’s most beautiful mountain landscapes, which includes the magnificent peaks of the Mont-Aux-Sources. The Tugela Falls, the world’s second tallest waterfall, is also located here.

Inkosi Langalibalele Municipality has well established industrial, commercial and residential areas. Escourt is the largest commercial centre in the region. Many of the government departments serving Inkosi Langalibalele have regional offices located in Estcourt. Weenen is a small agricultural town that is emerging as a tourist destination. Much of the population resides in rural villages scattered throughout the municipal area, particularly in traditional authority areas.

The agricultural sector has a huge potential for being developed and to stimulate economic development within the area.

Physical Address: 33 Forbes Street, Ladysmith, 3370
Postal Address: P.O. Box 116, Ladysmith, 3370
Tel: +27 (0)36 638 5100 / 036 638 2400

Add a Title
Add a Title
Add a Title
Add a Title
bottom of page